Springtime In Surrey (Author Interview w/Katja Labonte)

Have you ever heard of a tussie-mussie before? What about floriography? And are there more books that come after Little Women? Well, I’m happy to tell you that all these questions and more will be answered in our Springtime in Surrey author interview post. So, let’s welcome our fifth author in this blog series, Katja Labonte’!

In clock-wise order starting from the bottom left corner: Bailey Gaines; Katja Labonte’; Faith Blum; Andrea Renee Cox; Grace A. Johnson; Rachel Leitch; Kellyn Roth; and Erika Matthews.

Interview with Katja

Hello, Katja! I’m so glad to have you here on the blog. May we start with an introduction?

Hi, Lilly! Thank you so much for having me!! 🙂 I’d be happy to introduce myself. My name is Katja H. Labonté. I’m 22, a pastor’s kid, and a bilingual French-Canadian. Most importantly, I am a child of God who has come through some tough stuff but was made victorious by Jesus Christ. I’m an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. I write both contemporary and historical fiction, as well as non-magical historical and contemporary kingdom fiction, and covers themes of worth, love, peace, and Christian growth. 

Congratulations on your published story, The Tussie-Mussie. Out of curiosity, what is a tussie-mussie?

Thank you so much! So when I picked that title, I did not realize most people didn’t know what a tussie-mussie is. Tussie-mussies were tiny bouquets of flowers, places in little decorated vases that women held or pinned to their bodices. They were used originally to neutralize the foul smells that permeated the air, but by Victorian times, they were used mostly for decorative purposes—and courtship! At that time, floriography—the language of flowers—was also highly popular. Gentlemen picked flowers based on the meaning they held and sent them to their fair love. Even the colour or species of a specific flower, or the lady wore the flower, meant something! 

What inspired you to write this story?

This story was inspired when I was quite a child by Robyn Johnson’s The Enchanted Dolls’ House Wedding, which we edited, lol, and which briefly features tussie-mussies. I fell in love with floriography at once and dreamed up a romantic little story of forbidden love carried out and expressed via floriography. Over time the story morphed into a Sherlock Holmes fan fiction type of thing, and when I eventually came across the prompts of the Writers’ Vision Monthly Contest for September–December 2022 inspired Maggie, Ewart, and Catrìona. 

Why is the theme of this story important to you?

The theme of the story, stripped to its barest form, is “trust God.” To someone who has battled crippling anxiety from early childhood, that messages means a lot. From 2019–2022, I was engaged in a heavy spiritual battle of chronic depression and anxiety, and God delivered me. I still struggle a lot with worry, but He has taught me SO MUCH about surrender, trust, and peace, and while I feel like this story doesn’t cover even a fraction of that topic, I trust that He gave it to me for a reason.

However, the story’s second and more covert theme is much more important to me personally. Both Ewart and Catrìona struggle, in different ways, with self-confidence… another huge battle of mine and one that I’ve never triumphed over. Whether the causes of your self-hatred or disparagement are your physical looks, your personality flaws, your background, or anything else, I hope this message gets through: your Father created you, and He calls His works “marvellous” and “wonderful.” You are NOT a mistake and nothing about you is an accident or a mistake that takes away from your value to Him or His joyous love over you. I still have so, so far to go to accept and believe this truth, but I’m trying to take the first steps, and I hope the reminder can encourage you too. 

What inspired you to write Christian romance stories?

To be honest, I have written a romance only once before… and that is a romance-after-they’re-married. I never wrote a straight-up romance before and it was SO HARD and already my readers are letting me know I messed up by avoiding all the romance, lol!! To be honest I’ve discovered that right now I am not a fan of writing romance, simply because I haven’t experienced it and that makes it awkward and difficult for me. I’ll probably be sticking to friendship and family love until I get my own romance. ;P So yeah, sorry, probably not what you wanted to hear… Oh, and I didn’t actually answer the question yet. I wrote a romance because the characters decided it was. I didn’t want them to, but they didn’t listen. 

Do you find it easier writing female characters or male characters (or both)?

I don’t find either difficult. It depends on the character itself, not on their gender. But I guess if it comes down to it, I am a girl, so girls are a bit more easy simply by default of experience…? 

Finally, what’s a lesser known book that you think everyone should try reading, at least once?

Oh my, I have so many I could say, but I’ll settle with one that is somewhat similar to The Tussie-Mussie. Louisa May Alcott is one of my top favourite authors and one whose style I strive to emulate. Did you know Little Women has a sequel? It’s called Little Men, and definitely try it out, because it’s so good and sweet. 

But the actual book I am recommending is the third (and final) book in the series: Jo’s Boys. Not quite as great as LW and LM, but still good, AND it has a romantic scene involving florioraphy! (So does LW, if you didn’t know it already…) DO NOT read the series out of order though!!! 

I also have to recommend Rose in Bloom and An Old-Fashioned Girl, because they have a lot to say about a debutante’s season, etc. (But be sure to read Eight Cousins, which is the book before RiB.)

That was more than one book. #sorrynotsorry

Thanks so much for doing this interview, Katja! I hope your story gets to bless a lot of people!

Thank you for having me, Lilly!! ❤


The Tussie-Mussie by Katja H. Labonté

Miss Caitrìona Roylett is determined to rescue her family from poverty by making a brilliant match. She is on the verge of success when her brother is arrested for a sensational crime. Despised and shunned, Caitrìona is forced to return home to the country, helpless to save her loved ones.

Mr. Ewart Alinac has spent twenty years as a recluse. With his confidence stolen by his parents’ cruelty, he raises his younger sister away from the rush of society. When a letter from his estranged mother forces him towards a path he despises, Ewart struggles with crippling fears as he attempts to protect his sister.

After a chance meeting, Ewart and Caitrìona find aid in each other. Soon they spend their days side by side, working for their respective families. But as mysteries are uncovered and characters tested, what truth will be revealed? Can wounds be healed and true love bloom during springtime in Surrey?

Katja H. Labonté’s Bio & Links:

Katja H. Labonté is a Christian, an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. She is a bilingual French-Canadian and has about a dozen topics she’s excessively passionate about (hint: that’s why she writes). Katja writes both contemporary and historical fiction, as well as non-magical historical and contemporary kingdom fiction, and covers themes of worth, love, peace, and Christian growth. She spends her days enjoying little things, growing in faith, learning life, and loving people. You can follow her life journey, find free books, browse her services, and more on her website and blog.

Website/Blog: littleblossomsforjesus.wordpress.com

Bookstagram: instagram.com/oldfashionedbooklove

Goodreads: goodreads.com/oldfashionedbooklove 

Tumblr: https://tumblr.com/blog/oldfashionedbooklove

Pinterest: pinterest.ca/oldfashionedbooklove 

Amazon: http://amzn.to/3WE7D15

Newsletter: https://sendfox.com/katjahlabonte

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/katja-h-labonte


Title: Springtime in Surrey : a Wild Blue Wonder Press anthology

Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction, both Historical and Contemporary

Short Blurb:

Springtime in Surrey, the first collection releasing with Wild Blue Wonder Press, is a Christian anthology featuring eight lovely stories. With a mix of historical and contemporary, romance and women’s fiction, a dash of mystery here and there, real-life themes presented in a loving way, and a vintage feel, this story is sure to charm lovers of Christian women’s fiction.


I never knew what a tussie-mussie was until talking with Katja! And floriography sounds like a fascinating way to communicate. Did you know that women also communicated with fans during the Victorian era? Also, have you read any of Little Women’s sequels? Which character would you be from those books? And what lesser known books would you recommend people to read? Let’s chat below!

12 thoughts on “Springtime In Surrey (Author Interview w/Katja Labonte)

  1. I had no idea what a tussie-mussie was, and I kept thinking throughout the whole story: What is that? When will it come into play?
    Also, The Tussie Mussie is my absolute favorite story in the whole collection so far. I have two stories left to read I thin, but idk if they will change my mind or not. I was like: LE GASP! Mystery/Sherlock Holmes/Christiaan?😍 Plus I am not a big fan of romance so what you had in there was perfect!

    Great interview you guys! I really enjoyed reading it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Corrie! How have you been this week?

      Ooo, really? Then I definitely need to read this book! (And did you say Mystery/ Sherlock/Christian story?! That sounds like fun!). Lol, I’m not a huge fan of romance stories either.

      Thank you for reading, Corrie!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been busy, but great! You?

        Really? You have not read it? Oh cool! It can be exciting and new for you! I love the other stories in the book as well, I’m not knocking them down, The whole collection is wonderfully put together!

        You’re welcome!😁

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Glad to hear it!

            Haha, same, I’m behind on this one series a friend told me about last year😂 I’m like a third through book 2. In all fairness the books are SUPER thick!
            Let me know if you like the collection!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment